Toure, Drogba and Obi make final list | CAF Player of the Year Award

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has released the final nomination list for the African Player of Year 2013 award from which the overall will be announced on January 9, in Lagos, Nigeria.

Ivorian duo of midfielder Yayo Toure and striker Didier Drogba made the cut and are joined by Nigeria and Chelsea FC midfielder John Obi Mikel.

Manchester City star Toure who won the BBC Fans award for this year and Drogba were instrumental for Ivory Coast helping the Elephants reach the finals of the 2014 World Cup and also the semi-finals of the 2013 Africa Nations Cup.

As for Mikel, he helped Nigeria lift the Nations Cup for the first time since 1994 and like Drogba and Toure helped Nigeria reach next year’s World Cup finals in Brazil.

Surprisingly, Nigerian forward Victor Moses missed on the final three despite his contribution to Nigeria’s success this year.

In the African Player of the year based on the continent, Egyptians Ahmed Fathy and Mohamed Abou Trika and Nigerian Sunday Mba made the final list. Mba was instrumental during Nigeria’s AFCON triumph scoring the winning goal in the final against Burkina Faso.

National Team of the Year

Burkina Faso



Youth National team of the Year

Nigeria U 17

Club of the Year

Al Ahly

CS Sfaxien

Orlando Pirates

Fair Play Award

Nigerian Supporter

Coach of the Year

Manu Garba

Stephen Keshi

Paul Put

Most Promising Talent

Ebenezer Assifuah

Saleh Gomaa

Kelechi Iheanacho

Referee Award

Alioum Neant

Haimoudi Djamel

Papa Bakary Gassama

Legend Award

Bruno Metsu

Mehdi Faria