Zimbabwe’s Ian names CHAN squad

Uganda’s CHAN group B opponents, Zimbabwe has named its final 23-man squad for the 3rd Edition of the 2014 CHAN tournament set this month in South Africa.

Head coach, Ian Gorowa, has blended youth and experience as he stuck with the majority of the players who have been doing duty under his reign when he named his final 23-man squad for the championship. Like Uganda, Robert Mugabe’s boys might also not have had as many warm-up matches as they would have wished for.

With their latest bid to play Libya falling through after the North Africans reportedly failed to secure flights from Tripoli to Harare, information coming in reveals that Zimbabwe will fly in South Africa on 7th in the morning and play Gabon in the evening in a-one preparatory friendly game.

Uganda has also confirmed to host Mauritania in Mandela National stadium also as its friendly game before Micho’s lads takes off.

The Herald news paper has learnt that, Zimbabwe central government recently reaffirmed its pledge of $88,000 to the Warriors which will aid in the team’s transport and accommodation and also cater for player’s allowances.

Ian Gorowa opted for Dynamos’ experienced defender, Partson Jaure to skipper the warriors who open up their first fixture in Athone stadium with Morroco on 12th, before playing Uganda four days later. The worriors who are featuring in CHAN for their 3rd time, will play Burkina Faso in their last game of the group.

Zimbabwe final CHAN squad

Goalkeepers: George Chigova (Dynamos), Tafadzwa Dube (CAPS United), Munyaradzi Diya (Highlanders)

Defenders: Oscar Machapa (Dynamos) , Hardlife Zvirekwi (CAPS United) , Augustine Mbara (Dynamos), Milton Ncube (Highlanders) , Felix Chindungwe (Chicken Inn), Themba Ndlovu (Dynamos) , Eric Chipeta (Hwange), Partson Jaure (Dynamos)

Midfielders: Masimba Mambare (Highlanders), Tawanda Muparati (Dynamos) , Danny Phiri (Chicken Inn), Pascal Manhanga (Triangle), Charles Sibanda (FC Platinum), Kuda Mahachi (Chicken Inn), Ali Sadiki, (FC Platinum), Peter Moyo (Highlanders), Donald Ngoma (FC Platinum)

Strikers: Simba Sithole (How Mine), Nelson Maziwisa (FC Platinum), Simba Sithole (Dynamos)