St George claims 28th Ethiopian Premier League title

St George 2-1 Hawassa

Ethiopian giants, St George football club on Wednesday won their 28th national league title, adding to the already rich and enviable trophy cabinet since inception in 1935.

Adane Girma and Ramkel scored for home club in their 2-1 victory over Hawassa during the last premier league match of the season at the Addis Ababa national stadium.

Mulugeta Miheret got the consolation for Hawassa in a well attended match.

The historic Addis Ababa based club popularly known as ‘Kidus Giorgis’ has three Ugandans, striker Brian Umony, defender Isaac Isinde and goalkeeper Robert Odongkara who have featured prominently.

Umony missed most games of the season round after sustaining a simple fracture.

St George swept most awards of the season. Defender Achalew Tamene won the Most Valuable player of year award.

Towering goalie Robert Odongkara won his fifth consecutive best goalie accolade in Ethiopia since 2012.

Their Dutch born tactician Martinus Ignatius Nooij was voted coach of the season.

Years St George has won the Ethiopian Premier League:

1950, 1966, 1967, 1968, 1971, 1975, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016

Leave a Reply