‘Kikankane’ takes NRC lead with Kabale Rally win

© Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE
Duncan Mubiru during the Gorillas in the Mist Rally

Duncan Mubiru has taken lead of the National Rally Championship after winning the Kabale Rally on Sunday.

‘Kikankane’ as he is commonly known showed early intent leading after day one. He maintained the lead to win the rally.

Navigated by George Semakula, Mubiru fared through the 178.82km in 2hrs, 17minutes, 31seconds to register his first win since 2015 in Mbarara.

“We came to this event very prepared, we knew what we wanted and we have got it,” said Mubiru.

“The event has not been so easy, but our strategy was to endure the fight till it lasted. We wanted this win the way we want to win this year’s title,” he added.

Mubiru and Semakula are now on 160points after NRC round two.

© Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE
Ronald Sebuguzi came second in Kabale Rally

Ronald Sebuguzi finish second overall. Sebuguzi as well maintained his second position on the NRC standings with 150points.

Kuku Ranjit turned the day one sixth position into a podium place. He completed the Mitsubishi 1-2-3.

Fred Wampamba finished fourth followed by Kepher Walubi.

Meanwhile, only Ismail Lule and Rwanda’s Fabrice  finished in the two-wheel category with Lule topping the class

Only thirteen crews finished the event of the twenty seven (27) that started on Saturday.

Hassan Alwi, Musa Kabega, Arthur Blick Jr, Musa Kabega and ten others crews were among the casualties of the second edition of Gorillas in the mist rally.

The third NRC round is scheduled for April 28-30th.

Kabale Rally Top 10 Finishers
1. Duncan Mubiru/G.Semakula 2:17:31
2. Ronald Sebuguzi/L.Ssenyange 2:20:08
3. Kuku Ranjit/M.Nsubuga 2:28:36
4. Fred Wampamba/P.Musaazi 2:29:01
5. Kepher Walubi/S.Kalema 2:32:00
6. Fred Busulwa/M.Kibuuka 2:43:18
7. Edward Kirumira/E.Kavuma 2:49:53
8. Wilbert Pole/U.Bakunda 2:50:15
9. Ismail Lule/S. Bunya 3:38:32
10. Fabric Nyiridandi/R.Remera 3:50:45

Leave a Reply