Nakalembe reclaims Entebbe Ladies Golf title

2017 Castle Lite Entebbe Ladies Golf Open:

Overall Winner: Irene Nakalembe 74 (Day 1), 73 (Day 2) – 152 (Total Gross), 142 (Nett)

  • It was third time that Irene Nakalembe won the overall title in a row
  • A total of 53 lady golfers from Uganda, Tanzania, Kenya and Rwanda took part
  • Winner took home two trophies and a weekend for two at Kabalega Lodge
  • For the third time in a row, Entebbe based lady golfer, Irene Nakalembe won the Entebbe Ladies Golf open.
© Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE
Irene Nakalembe (5th from left) lifts her trophy after winning the 2017 Entebbe Ladies Open

Playing off handicap 5, Nakalembe returned a total of 152 gross over the two days, making it 142 nett over two days at the her own lake side Entebbe Golf Club.

On day one, she led with a 3 –over par gross score of 74 before improving with to 73 on day three.

Nakalembe was at first crowned at the 18th hole after a par putt before merry making on the famous 19th hole.

In her victory speech on the winning podium, an over joyed Nakalembe hailed the competitive spirit of her playing mates – Eva Magala, Gloria Mbaguta and Tanzania’s Vicky Elias for the historic feat.

I am happy to win again.

I prepared well for the tournament and the healthy competition from my playing mates kept me going as I produced such scores

She won two trophies, earned a weekend for two at the Kabalega Lodge and will receive 12 months kitting by MSL effective June.

© Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE
Irene Nakalembe being crowned champion at the 19th hole after winning her third Entebbe Ladies Golf title

Kabale based golfer Gloria Mbaguta, handicap 8 returned 161 gross to beat Eva Magala on count back.

Esther Okullo was the best seniors’ golfer.

Other winners:

Joweria Namanda and Martha Babirye won the nearest to the pin (on hole 12) and longest drive contests (on hole 18) respectively.

Group Champions:

Tanzania’s Vicky Elias took home Group A whilst Pheibe Chandiru toppled Group B.

In the subsidiary category, Peter Tapi won Group A. Jeys Olanya and Johanni Ssekulo were the Group B and C respective best performers.

Jacob Byamukama chipped best to the 12th hole to take home the prize staked for the nearest to the pin side bet.

Walusimbi Sserwano was the best hitter of the ball to win the longest drive contest on hole 18.

The tournament director, Innocent Kihika lauded all the participants and sponsors for the tournament well organized.

We have had a great tournament, thanks to the good weather, the full support of sponsors (Castle lite and Britam Insurance) and the players’ urge to play.

Please, keep it up.

The mayor of Entebbe, Kayanja Vincent De Paul, the chief Guest appreciated the golfing family for the tremendous work undertaken to preserve the environment as well as the golfing strength of networking.

State minister for works and transport Monica Ntege also played throughout the two day’s tourney.

This was the 7th edition of the Entebbe Ladies Golf Open.

Different Winners:

Overall Winner: Nakalembe – H/C 5 – 152 Gross

Runners Up: Gloria Mbaguta H/C 8 -161 Gross (Count Back)

1st Runners up: Eva Magala – 161 Gross

Gross Champions:

Day 2 Gross Winner: Anne Abeja (89)

Day 1 Gross winner: Melon Kyomugisha (80)


Seniors Winner: Esther Okullo – H/C 5 – 157 Nett

Group A:

Winner: Vicky Elias H/C 9 – 155 Nett

Runners up: Monica Ntege H/C 9 – 156 Nett

1st Runners up: Resty Nalutaaya H/C 15

Group B (19 – 36):

Winner: Pheibe Chandiru H/C 30 – 145 Nett

Runners up: Robbina Angom H/C 28 – 146 Nett

1st Runners up: Joweria Namanda H/C 20 – 148 Nett

Nearest to the pin (WomenHole No.12): Joweria Namanda

Longest Drive (Women – Hole No.18): Martha Babirye


Group A:

Winner: Peter Tapi H/C 5 65 Nett

Runners up: Rogers Eyoyo H/C 7 – 70 Nett (Countback)

1st Runners up: Sam Kacungira H/C 9 – 70 Nett

Group B:

Winner: P. Jeys Olanya H/C 16 – 60 Nett

Runners up: Paul Baite H/C 11 – 65 Nett

1st Runners Up: Collins Nuwagiira H/C 18 -65 Nett

Group C:

Winner: Johanni Ssekulo – H/C 24 – 66 Nett

1st Runners up:  H/C 23 – 67 Nett C/B Dan Kajungu

2nd Runners up: H/C 26 – 67 Nett Tonny Katamba

Nearest to the pin (Men – Hole No.12): Jacob Byamukama

Longest Drive (Men – Hole No.18): Walusimbi Sserwano

Leave a Reply