Oman name team for ICC World Cricket League Division 3


Oman announced the team for the six-nation ICC World Cricket League Division Three tournament due in Uganda form May 23-30.

The team that will be skippered by Sultan Ahmed in the 50-over tournament was announced on Tuesday by Oman Cricket and the national team chief coach, Duleep Mendis who termed the team as ‘balanced squad’.

“The team’s selection was based on the current form of the players. We have a balanced side and hope to do well in Uganda,” Mendis said as quoted by Muscat Daily.

The former Sri Lanka great said that the players will have a training camp starting on May 1 with former two other former Sri Lanka stars, Rumesh Ratnayake and Ruwan Kalpage, to assist the team as bowling and fielding coaches respectively.

Oman will play practice games against the UAE as part of the team’s build-up to the tournament and travel to Kenya for a camp and acclimatization.

The hosts Uganda, Malaysia, Canada, Singapore and US are the other teams competing in World Cricket League Division Three.

Matches will be played at three venues – Lugogo Oval, Kyambogo Oval and Entebbe Oval.

The Squad:

Zeeshan Maqsood, Aaqib Ilyas, Khawar Ali, Twinkal Bhandari, Noorul Riaz, Ajay Lalcheta, Muhammed Naseem, Sultan Ahmed (Captain), Muhammed Nadeem, Munis Ansari, Bilal Khan, Sufyan Mehmood, Jatinder Singh, Arun Poulose.

Reserves: Rajesh Ranpura, Nestor Dhamba, Syed Amir Ali, Baadal Singh.


Duleep Mendis (Chief Coach), Premnath Jaganath (Physio), Mazhar Saleem (Assistant Coach), Madhu Jesrani (Manager), Rumesh Ratnayake (Bowling Coach), Ruwan Kalpage (Fielding Coach), Nandisha (Video Analyst).

Oman’s Schedule:

  • May 23: vs. USA
  • May 24: vs. Canada
  • May 26: vs. Uganda
  • May 27: vs. Singapore
  • May 29: vs. Malaysia
  • May 30: Playoffs

Leave a Reply