Jinja S.S pip St Mary’s Kitende to lift maiden National Copa School’s trophy

2017 Copa National schools football championship:

Final: St Mary’s Kitende 1 (3) – 1 (4) Jinja S.S

Third place play off: Kibuli S.S 1-0 Nakaseke International

Jinja Secondary School has lifted their first ever Copa national schools football title on Saturday.

Jinja SS Copa Champions 2017

This followed a hard fought, tense and well attended finale won 4-3 in post match penalties over 8 time winners, St Mary’s Kitende at the Masaka Recreational stadium.

Normal time of the exciting duel that climaxed the two week’s tournament had ended one goal apiece.

Joel Madondo scored his 15th goal of the campaign 10 minutes from full time to light up the hundreds of fans on a sunny evening.

St Mary’s Kitende, who had earlier in the first half missed a penalty through Pius Mzee Wangi quickly recomposed themselves and made quick amends through robust striker Kennedy Kasozi two minutes from full time.

© Kawowo Sports / DAVID ISABIRYE
Immensely talented Jinja S.S midfielder Vincent Zziwa dribbles during the match

In the shoot out, Jinja S.S scored all their four kicks from the penalty mark through defender Fesali Najib, Joel Madondo, captain Joram Kirya and the enterprising midfielder Vincent Zziwa.

St Mary’s Kitende’s three kicks were converted by Kasozi, Brian Kalumba and the team captain Ashraf Bamutaraki.

Defender Bashir Asiku blasted his across Lazalus Obelejo’s goal posts before second half substitute Abdul Karim Watambala had his final kick kiss the cross bar to spark wild celebrations from the Jinja players, officials and fans alike.

© Kawowo Sports / DAVID ISABIRYE
St Mary’s Kitende defender Bashir Asiku blasts his penalty wide of goal

Jinja S..S thus won their first ever national schools’ trophy, a feat that head coach Eric Kabanda attributed to team work and discipline.

“We were a determined lot and prepared well” Kabanda said.

Meanwhile, Kibuli edged Nakaseke International 1-0 to finish third at the 2017 Copa National schools football championship.

Julius Poloto struck in the opening 10 minutes to inspire Kibuli S.S to the victory during a Saturday morning duel played at Masaka Recreational stadium.

Champions Jinja S.S will join St Mary’s Kitende and Kibuli to represent Uganda at the 2017 East African secondary school games that will be hosted by St Joseph College, Layibi in Gulu district.

© Kawowo Sports / DAVID ISABIRYE
Top scorer Abdallah Ssenyonga receives his award from state sports minister Charles Bakabulindi during the prize giving ceremony.
© Kawowo Sports / DAVID ISABIRYE
Jinja S.S’ Ivan Wani receives the MVP accolade from State Minister of sports Charles Bakabulindi in Masaka at the prize giving ceremony

Individual awards:

MVP – Ivan Wani (JINJA S.S)

Top scorer: Abdallah Ssenyonga (St Julian) – 16 goals

Semi-finals results:

Nakaseke International 1 (1) – 1 (3) Jinja S.S

St Mary’s Kitende 2-1 Kibuli S.S

Quarter finals:

Kibuli S.S 1 (3) – 1 (1) Masaka S.S

Jinja S.S 5-1 Citizens High

St Mary’s Kitende 0 (4) – 0 (3) Dynamic

Nakaseke International 2-0 Jinja Progressive Academy

Round of 16 games:

Kibuli SS 0 (3) – 0 (1) Buhobe SS

Buddo SS 1 (2) – 1 (3) Masaka SS

St Mary’s Kitende 2-0 St Joseph College Layibi

Dynamic S.S 3-0 Bishop Ngeri S.S

St.Julian 0-1 Nakaseke International

Jinja Progressive Academy 2-0 Namagabi S.S

Jinja ss 2-0 Ryakasinga Che

Blessed Sacrament Kimanya 0 (5) – 0 (6) Citizen High School

Leave a Reply