Beach Soccer League: MUBS stands in Mutesa I Royal University’s path to first silverware

2016/17 Beach Soccer League:

Latest Results:

Quarter finals:

  • YMCA 09-04 Kabalagala Rangers
  • Makerere University Business School (MUBS) 7-4 Stormers
  • Nkumba Select 12-05 Kampala International University (KIU)
  • Mutesa 1 Royal University 05-04 St Lawrence University


  • YMCA 4-7 MUBS
  • Nkumba Select 4 (1) – 1 (2) Mutesa I Royal University

Final Day of the season – Sunday, 25th June 2017:

  • Third place play off: Nkumba Select vs. YMCA – 2 p.m
  • Final: MUBS vs. Mutesa I Royal University – 4 p.m
© Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE
MUBS’ Ben Ocen (left) closed down by Allan Zirimenya and Jonathan Kikonyogo of YMCA at Lido beach on Sunday

Mutesa I Royal University ejected defending champions of the National Beach Soccer League, Nkumba Select to book a final berth against two time winners, MUBS.

The final of the 2016/17 National Beach Soccer League shall take place on Sunday, 25th June 2017 at Lido Beach, Entebbe.

Mutesa I Royal University defeated last year’s champion, Nkumba Select 2-1 in post-match penalties after a 4-4 draw in normal time.

MUBS, winners in 2012 and 2015, won convincingly 7-4 against YMCA in the other semifinal match.

Ben Ocen scored a hat-trick for MUBS. Isma Kawawulo (Brace), Maxwell Okello and Julius Zimula scored for Charles Ayiekho’s coached side.

Hamim Ssemakula, Derrick Tekkwo and Allan Zirimenya (Brace) got the goals for YMCA, coached by Emmanuel “Bonaparte” Amagu.

© Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE
Mutesa I Royal University players and fans celebrate their victory over Nkumba Select in the semifinals at Lido

In the quarter finals, YMCA whipped the 2011 champions Kabalagala Rangers 9-4 with Ssemakula notching a hat-trick to top score in the fixture.

Nkumba Select humiliated Kampala International University (KIU) 12-5, the biggest score line during the quarter finals. Hassan Nana Kivumbi excelled with three individual goals for the reigning champions, and so, was KIU’s Farouk Banga (3 goals).

MUBS were 7-4 winners against Stormers and Mutesa I Royal University pipped St. Lawrence in the derby duel.

Ayiekho, head coach at MUBS believes his players will finish the job on the final day;

We shall keep focused and train throughout the coming week because we need to make history by becoming the first club to win three Beach Soccer League titles.

This year alone, I have lost two finals on sand (Universities and Muwanguzi tourneys).

As a team, we learnt our mistakes which we shall clean up in these remaining days.

The third place playoff between Nkumba Select and YMCA will open the final day before the grand finale.

All the matches will take place on Sunday, 25th June 2017 at Lido beach.


The third placed club will smile home with bronze medals and Beach Soccer balls.

The losing finalist will get silver medals, balls and other accompanying prizes.

Besides the trophy, the winners will get gold medals, prize money (unspecified) and other items.

Uganda Beach Soccer Association (UBSA) has been organizing the league since 2009 as mandated by the football governing body in the country, FUFA.

The previous league winners:

  • 2016 – Nkumba Select
  • 2015 – MUBS
  • 2014 – Kira Young
  • 2013 – St. Lawrence
  • 2012 – MUBS
  • 2011 – Kabalagala Rangers
  • 2010 – Braza Braza
  • 2009 – Tinka

Leave a Reply