All new stages for Pearl of Africa Rally

© Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE
Ronald Sebuguzi who will be first off the ramp.

The 2017 Pearl of Africa Rally is taking a totally different turn from the past two events as it features new stages in a new venue.

The event is scheduled for 29th June to 1st July through parts of Luwero and Kayunga for day two.

While the stages from the past two events received negative comments, this year’s stages were tested and approved by local competitors after the third round of the National rally championship.

“The stages are a bit familiar to our local drivers. But we did a few adjustment following the order from our host Sugar Corporation of Uganda(SCOUL) who thought one stage was not so safe for the sport,” said Jeff Kabagambe the Clerk of the Course of the event.

“What I can assure you is that the stages are very obvious for every crew; very smooth and less challenging. The most prepared and strategic crews will easily take advantage of the stages.”

“Also fans are catered for. We have two stages with the finish opposite one another. It will be easy for them to catch both stages,” he added.

Pearl rally will start with a Super Special Stage at the Motorsports Arena Busiika where two runs will be covered before crews head for the Nakifuna stage (14km) to end the day.

Six stages will be covered on day two including one named after the legendary rally driver Shekhar Metha.

Bwakedde stage (48km), Kitimba (9km), Shekhar Metha (28km), Lugasa (7km) and Lwasa (25km) will all be covered on day two in Kayunga district.

Meanwhile, 50 crews are expected to start the event including ten foreign crews from Kenya, Burundi, Rwanda and Zambia.

Leave a Reply