USPA set to crown 2016 top sports personalities at glamorous award dinner

2016 USPA Dinner:

  • Friday, 14th July 2017
  • At Imperial Royale Hotel, Kampala (6 p.m till late) – Follow updates on
[/media-credit] USPA president Sabiiti Muwanga introduces his executive committee members at the 2015 awards dinner

The Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) will on Friday night hold the annual sportsmen of the year dinner where the 2016 best performers will be rewarded at a glamorous dinner and awards ceremony in Kampala.

Imperial Royal Hotel is the venue where close to 500 guests are expected to wine and dine.

The first son, Gen Muhoozi Kainerugaba will be the chief guest at the event.

Fast rising music diva Irene Ntale who has done a number of chart toppers like ‘Sembera’ and ‘Gyobela’ will be the main actress while Geo Steady will treat guests to his ‘Owooma’ hit among others.

At the same awards gala, the most outstanding sports personality of the year and team of the year will also be known.

The sports journalists under the umbrella body, USPA compiled the list of the different winners during their assembly held at Lugogo Tennis Courts on Monday, 9th January 2017.

Tennis, Cycling and Volleyball were scrapped off the list for the previous year for being inactive.

Nominees for Sports Personality of the year:

Denis Onyango (Football)

David Emong (Paralympics)

Phillip Wokorach (Rugby)

[/media-credit] The Uganda Cranes starting XI against Togo in the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifiers
Uganda Rugby Cranes
Uganda Rugby Cranes
[/media-credit] City Oilers Baketball Club before they took on BEAC Basketball at the 2016 FIBA Champions Cup in Egypt

Nominees for Team of the year:

Uganda Cranes

Rugby Cranes

City Oilers Basketball Team

Simon ‘The Computer’ Lubulwa on the pool table during the Nile Special National Pool Championship at Lugogo. The championship has been nominated for sport event of year alongside the Uganda Golf Open.
otile and muhumuza ug golf open
Ronald Otile and Adolf Muhumuza during the 2016 Uganda Golf Open pressure group

Nominations for Sports Event of the year

National Open Pool Championship

Uganda Golf Open

The Different Sport Discipline Winners:


[/media-credit] David Emong returned to a heroes welcome after he won Uganda’s first and only medal (silver) at the Paralympics games in Rio De janeiro Brazil

Male: David Emong

Female: Juliet Chekwel

Boxing: Shadir Musa

[/media-credit] Uganda Cranes’ Denis Onyango. He won the league in South Africa with Mamelodi Sundowns, CAF Champions league, played at the FIFA Club World Cup and was part of the historic Uganda Cranes team

Football: Denis Onyango

Hasifa Nassuna dribbles the ball during the 2016 CECAFA Women championship at Njeru. She was top scorer at that tournament as Uganda finished 4th. She won the FUFA Women Elite league with Kawempe Muslim S.S

Women Football: Hasfa Nassuna

[/media-credit] 2016 NRC champions Jas Mangat (R) and Joseph Kamya
[/media-credit] Jas Mangat at the Mosac Rally in Jinja

Motorsport(Rallying): The crew of Jas Mangat and Joseph Kamya

Ronald Otile is the golfer of the year, 2016. He successfully defended the Uganda Open and was part of the team Uganda that defended the East African Golf Challenge trophy in Ethiopia
[/media-credit] Lady Golfer Flavia Namakula dances with Musician Bebe Cool at Entebbe Club after the Mug of Mugs tournament in December 2016


Male: Ronald Otile

Female: Flavia Namakula


Male: Henry Ssenyondo

Female: Stephanie Nampiina

[/media-credit] 2016 National pool champion, Sula Matovu also won the Christmas Championship. He was also part of team Uganda that lifted the African title in Kampala.


Male: Sula Matovu

Female: Vicky Namuyanja

Bobybuilding: Andrew Ssenoga


Male: Brian Kasirye

Female: Shamim Bangi

Table Tennis

Male: Gilton Chelibe

Female: Halima Nambozo

Lillian Zawedde tee-off with her mallet at a beach woodball circuit. Zawedde preformed well throughout the year both on grass and sand.


Male: Onesmus Atamba

Female: Lillian Zawedde

Weightlifting: Khalid Batuusa


Male: Phillip Wokorach

Female: Grace Auma

Motocross: Aviv Orland


[/media-credit] Retired chess player Harold Wanyama

Male: Harold Wanyama

Female: Joyce Kabengano

Netball: Joan Nampungu


Male: Jacob Okidi

Female: Dinah Amoding

Kickboxing: Patricia Apolot


Male: Jimmy Enabu

Female: Judith Nansobya

[/media-credit] Jimmy Enabu

Ludo: Sarah Namubiru

[/media-credit] Ulinzi’s Nicholas Ireri takes a shot as Police’s Felix Mukunzi attempts with a block


Male: Felix Mukunzi

Female:Muhaimuna Namuwaya

[/media-credit] Men’s 100m Butterfly
13th Fina World Swimming Championships


Male: Nicholas Malani

Female: Kirabo Namutebi

hockey 1


Male: Innocent Mbabali

Female: Doreen Asiimwe

Squash: Ian Rukunya

The legendary award winner is the Uganda Handball Federation president, Sheila Agonzibwe, as decided by the USPA top executive.

The hosts for this year’s event are Andrew Kabuura and Malaika Nnyanzi.
Meanwhile, in a partnership with UBC TV, the awards will be live which will give viewers across Uganda and beyond an opportunity to follow every minute of the ceremony.
The USPA gala is sponsored by Nile Special and supported by NSSF.

Leave a Reply