Rwandan clubs, Samaritan sweep 2017 KAVC International

2017 NSSF – KAVC International

  • Men’s Final: APR (Rwanda) 3-1 Kirehe (Rwanda) – [25-23, 22-25, 25-19, 25-23]
  • Women Final: RRA (Rwanda) 3-1 VVC (Uganda) – [25-12, 18-25, 28-26, 25-10]
  • Women Third Place: KAVC (Uganda) 3-1 Ndejje (Uganda)  – [25-22, 26-24, 15-25, 25-18]
  • U-12 (Boys): Samaritan Primary School (Uganda)
  • U-12 (Girls): St James Primary School, Nkumba (Uganda)
  • U-14 (Boys): Samaritan Primary School (Uganda)
  • U-14 (Girls): Samaritan Primary School (Uganda)
APR men celebrate their success

Rwandese clubs APR and Samaritan Primary School underage teams dominated the the 2017 KAVC International tournament over the weekend.

Army side APR and tax collectors Rwanda Revenue Authority (RRA) triumphed in the male and female categories receptively.

Samaritan Primary School won the U-14 boys and girls categories as well as the U-12 boys event.

St James Primary School from Nkumba managed to take home gold in the girls U-12 category.

The dominance of the Rwandan teams over the past few years continued on Sunday when both of their teams Kirehe and APR stormed the men’s finals and the latter edged the all Rwanda affair 3-1.

The champions drew the first blood winning 25-23. Kirehe made amends to triumph 22-25, thus making the tying the set score at 1 all.

APR took the subsequent sets 25-19 and 25-23 to take home gold and $1000 prize money.

In the women’s category, RRA whipped VVC of Uganda. RRA led the opening set 25-12 before VVC fought back to win the second 25-18.

RRA required a deuce for the third set to win 28-26 and white washed their opponents 25-10 and smile home with the trophy, gold medals and $1000 top prize money.

APR and Kirehe had outsmarted earlier KAVC (Uganda) and REG (Rwanda) respectively in the semifinals.

Hosts, KAVC finished third after defeating REG to earn bronze and $300 prize money.

RRA’s Charlotte Nzayisenga and Yves Mutabazi of APR were crowned MVPs.


Individual Awards | Clubs Category


  • MVP: Charlotte Nzayisenga (RRA)
  • Best Attacker: Seraphine Mukantambara (RRA)
  • Best Libero: Betty Mahoro (RRA)
  • Best Reciever: Veronica Aanyu (Ndejje University)
  • Best Blocker: Faith Magole (KAVC)
  • Best Setter: Yvette Ingihozo (APR)
  • Best Defender: Prossy Nsiimire (KAVC)
  • Best Server: Margaret Namyalo (VVC)


  • MVP: Yves Mutabazi (APR)
  • Best Attacker: Daudi Okello (KAVC)
  • Best Libero: Thioneste Ntakaberaho (Kirehe)
  • Best Reciever: Fred Muvunyi (Kirehe)
  • Best Blocker: Saviour Atama (KAVC)
  • Best Setter: Eric Mwizerwa (APR)
  • Best Defender: Valens Ndiyonze (REG)
  • Best Server: Flavien Ndamukunda (APR)

Leave a Reply