City Oilers sail past Patriots, return to Africa Club Championship

  • 2017 Zone V Club Championship
  • Men’s Finals: City Oilers 86-59 Patriots
  • Women Champions: KPA
City Oilers captain Jimmy Enabu recieves the Zone V winners trophy

For a second year running, City Oilers are regional club basketball champions and like last year in Dar es Salaam, the Ugandan side won in a dominant fashion.

Backed by the home crowd, Oilers quickly got off to a 6-0 start before Patriots temporarily silenced the fans but the hosts edged the opening quarter 22-20.

With the group game in which they barely got over the line on the back of their mind, City Oilers did not want to take any chances as they quickly stretched the lead to double-figures in the explosive second quarter.

And it was Jordin Mayes who took charge of business on the offensive end and the full to capacity Lugogo Indoor Stadium erupted. Oilers led 48-38 heading back to the locker rooms for the halftime break with Mayes scoring a third of the points.

After three quarters, it was all clear that Oilers were going to be crowned champions again. They led 69-51 and Patriots were struggling to find the basket as Kami Kabange, Hamza Ruhezamihigo and Olivier Shyaka were forced into tough shots.

In the fourth quarter the MVP chants for Mayes started. The University of Arizona former baller amassed game high 21 points and was eventually named tournament Most Valuable Player.

Having been ejected in the semifinal game against KPA, a more disciplined and cool headed Adarius Pegues came in handy for the champions with a 14 points and 13 rebounds double-double. Robinson Opong (15 points), Landry Ndikumana (12) and Jimmy Enabu (10) reached double-figures in scoring.

Aristide Mugabe who made the tournament All Star 5 at the point guard position led Patriots with 17 points while Elie Kaje’s busy body was good enough for 11 points.

Jordin Mayes with the MVP, Top Scorer and Best Shooting Guard trophies

Zone V Awards

MVP: Jordin Mayes (Oilers)

Top Scorer: Jordin Mayes (Oilers)

Top Rebounder: Landry Ndikumana (Oilers)

All Star 5

  • Point Guard: Aristide Mugabe (Patriots)
  • Shooting Guard: Jordin Mayes (Oilers)
  • Small Forward: Micheal Makiadi (Power)
  • Power Forward: Kami Kabange (Patriots)
  • Center: Stanley Ocitti (Oilers)

Leave a Reply