SC Victoria University are 2013 Uganda Cup Kings

Vipers SC 1-1 SC Victoria University (SCVU win 5-3 on penalties)

SC Victoria University have won the 2013 Uganda Cup trophy after beating Vipers SC 5-3 on post match penalties after a 1-1 draw in normal time in an entertaining final played at Municipal Stadium.

The game watched by a modesty crowd including new Cranes Coach Mulitin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic started on a high with both sides searching for an early goal but the first 45 minutes ended goal less despite close efforts by Edgar Luzige, Joseph Mpande for Vipers SC and Patrick Edema, Anthony Bongole for SCVU.

In the second half, the two sides resorted to a cautious approach but still attacked in equal measure.

Ambrose Chukuma made the first substitution of the game bringing on striker Yunus Ssentamu for Deus Bukenya in search for a goal and his opposite number Alex Isabirye responded by bring on Noah Ssemakula for Henry Lopidia. Other substitution had Emma Kalyowa come on for Edgar Luzige and later Patrick Ssebunya for Ceaser Okhuti (Vipers SC) while Godfrey Katerega and Apollo Razak made way for George Abege and Jackson Kibirige respectively.

Nevertheless, it wasn’t until the 78th minute that the deadlock was broken as Joseph Mpande slotted home from the spot to give Vipers SC the lead after Denis Guma handled the ball in the forbidden area.

It appeared as though the title was destined for the Buikwe based side but Patrick Edema equalized for SCVU with seconds remaining on the clock scoring from 12 yards following a hand ball in the 18 yard box.

It was all left to be decided on penalties after the final whistle blew with the game tied at 1-1.

In the spot kicks, SC VU triumphed 5-3 after converting all their chances through Savio Kabugo, Denis Guma, George Abege, Manko Kawesa and Patrick Edema while Nicholas Wadada missed for Vipers SC despite Emma Kalyowa, Joseph Mpande and Yunus Ssentamu converting. 

It was Vipers SC second consecutive Uganda Cup loss in the finals after last year’s 1-0 loss to URA FC at Pecce Stadium, Gulu last year and SCVU’s maiden trophy.

Nestroy Kizito, Godfrey Katerega, Manko Kawesa and Ali Kimera also made history as they have now won a hat trick of Uganda Cup medals.

Vipers SC line up: I.Watenga Gk, D.Bukenya (P.Sebunya), R.Kimuli, M.Malunda, R.Sekubomba, N.Juuko, N.Wadada, C.Okhuti (Y.Sentamu), J.Mpande, O.Olusengun, E.Luzige (E.Kalyowa)

UNUSED SUBS: H.Muwonge, M.Muwanga, M.Nakibinge and J.Balinya

SCVU Line up: A.Kimera Gk, S.Kabugo, D.Iguma, M.Mpuga, G.Katerega (G.Abege), M.Kaweesa, R.Ewatu (J.Kibirige), H.Lopidia (N.Semakula,), P.Edema, A.Bongole

UNSUSED SUBS: E.Kalyowa, N.Kizito, Bernard Agele and F.Agandu

Leave a Reply