Phenomenal Sserunkuma sweeps KCCA FC Awards

[/media-credit] Geofrey Sserunkuma gives his speech at the podium

Aging Uganda Cranes striker Geoffrey Sserunkuma was no doubt the star attraction at the 2017 KCCA Awards held at the City Hall gardens in the heart of Kampala on Saturday evening.

Sserunkuma, who recently celebrated his 33rd birth day away in Senegal while with the Uganda Cranes won three awards on the night.

He was the overall MVP, Fans as well as the Players’ Player of the Year.

“I am happy for this recognition. It is a big pleasure but all the glory goes back to the God. I thank the rest of the players and officials. I thank the media, fans and our sponsors too. Football is team work. I would not manage to do this alone,” the humble striker who top scored in the league with 21 goals said.

[/media-credit] Sserunkuma receives the land title from Jenifer Musisi and Elias Lukwago

Sserunkuma was also awarded with a land title and different plaques.

Other awards:

Meanwhile, Paul Musamali took home the Tom Lwanga disciplined player of the year, that was won by Habib Kavuma last season.

[/media-credit] Paul Musamali with his award

16 year Sadat Anaku was named the Jackson Mayanja Young Player of the Year.

Just like last year, Kawempe Fans Club was the best supportive group with the fast rising fan, Kassim Kyazze as the best fan of the season.

Kyazze has made a name for himself with his colorful body paintings in the traditional club yellow and blue colours.

[/media-credit] Kassim Kyazze with his plaque


Kassim Kyazze on official duty for KCCA during a club game

Club legends, team officials, patron Elias Lukwago, KCCA ED Jenifer Semakula Musisi, Uganda Cranes head coach Milutin Sredejovic, sponsors and other invited guests attended the awards night.

This was the second time that the 1963 founded club was hosting the awards.

2017 KCCA FC awards:

  • Most Valuable Player: Geoffrey Sserunkuma
  • Jimmy Kirunda player of the year: Geoffrey Sserunkuma
  • Fans player of the year: Geoffrey Sserunkuma
  • Jackson Mayanja youngest player: Sadat Aneku
  • Tom Lwanga disciplined player: Paul Musamali
  • Fan’s branch of the year: Kawempe Fans Club
  • Fan of the year: Kassim Kyazze

Leave a Reply