KCCA dominates, Sserunkuma is the 2016-17 UPL MVP

  • On top of being champions, KCCA won 6 other gongs
  • They also dominated the UPL Best XI with four players 
[/media-credit] Geoffrey Sserunkuma recieves the award for Fans Player of the Year

Outgoing KCCA striker Geoffrey Sserunkuma is the 2016/17 Azam Uganda Premier League (AUPL) season.

The striker, who also won the golden boot with 21 goals, was crowned at the glamorous ceremony held at Imperial Royale Hotel, Kampala.

His goals helped KCCA retain the league and also became the first player since Herman Wasswa in 2012/13 to score over 20 goals in a league season.

Sserunkuma drove home in a SUBARU, model 2005 as the ultimate prize in addition to Ugx. 2 million.

“Glory be to God for enabling me have the kind of season I had at KCCA,” an excited but calm Sserunkuma said in his acceptance speech.

On top of that, I thank my coaches, the technical team led by Mike Mutebi, Badru Kaddu, Morley Byekwaso, Richard Magera, Nelly Magera, Daniel Kiwanuka, Robert Kabuye, the doctors plus our gallant fans who played a big role in my season.

The Buildcon bound star also earned the fans’ votes and thus walked home with three gongs.

In other categories, Allan Okello of KCCA scooped the Young Player’s award beating Thomas Ikara of Kirinya Jinja SS and also Frank ‘Zagga’ Tumwesigye of Vipers.

Ismail Watenga won the Goalkeeper of the season award, Ibrahim Saddam Juma’s effort were rewarded with the Best Midfielder gong ahead of Shafik Kagimu (URA) and his new teammate Muzamiru Mutyaba.

Mike Mutebi deservedly won the coach of the Year gong, Stephen Kiggundu Billy walked home with Best Goalkeeping Coach of the season award while Halid Lwaliwa retained his defender of the year gong.

Outgoing KCCA CEO David Tamale retained the Best CEO award; Onduparaka fans won the accolade for Best Fans while SC Villa legendary chairman, Patrick Kawooya was given the Life Time Achievers Award.

In the Media Category, Red pepper’s John Batanudde was voted as Best Photographer, The Observer’s John Vianney Nsimbe took home the Print category award, Ismail Dhakaba Kigongo of NTV was named Best TV journalist while the Radio category went to Fiona Namiiro of Star FM.

Kawowo Sports’ Isabirye David took home the category for Best Online journalist while Bukedde TV earned special recognition.

The event was attended by among others the Speaker of the EALA, Hon: James Kidega, the FUFA President, Moses Magogo, the chairman of Board of Directors, Arinaitwe Rugyendo and many dignitaries.

The Summary of Winners

Champions – KCCA FC

MVP of the season: Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA FC)

Goalkeeper of the season: Isma Watenga (Vipers)

Defender of the season: Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers)

Midfielder of the season: Saddam Juma (Express FC)

Top Scorer: Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA FC, 21goals)

Young Player of the year: Allan Okello (KCCA FC)

Fan’s player of the year: Geoffrey Sserunkuma

Fair play club of the season: KCCA

Fair play individual of the season: Fredrick Ssenoga – Recognised after he personally drove Vincent Onyebuchi to Hospital in his car when he broke leg against Proline at Wankulukuku.

Coach of the year: Mike Mutebi (KCCA FC)

Best Goalkeeping coach: Kiggundu Stephen Billy (Vipers)

Referee of the year: Alex Muhabi

Club CEO of the season: Tamale David (KCCA FC)

Media Personality

TV – Ismail Dhakaba Kigongo (NTV)

Radio – Fiona Namiiro (Star FM)

Print – John Vianney Nsimbe (The Observer)

Photography – John Batanudde (Redpepper)

Online – Isabirye David (Kawowo Sports)

Fan(s) of the year: Onduparaka Fans

Life Time Achiever Award Patrick Kawooya (SC Villa)


Ismail Watenga (Vipers), Nicholas Wadada (Vipers), Habib Kavuma (KCCA), Timothy Awany (KCCA), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers), Taddeo Lwanga (SC Villa), Ibrahim Saddam Juma (Express FC), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA), Shaban Muhammad (Onduparaka), Emmanuel Okwi (SC Villa) and Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA).

Leave a Reply